Vs.

Side note:

Turns out, after all the hype, T-Mobile’s HSPA+ 3G is as fast or faster than Sprint’s WiMax 4G.

T-Mobile recently took some heat (including from AT&T) for a recent announcement that insisted that their HSPA+ service offered “fourth generation speeds” — though the service itself is third generation technology. But Phone Scoop ran a series of tests that found that T-Mobile’s more than justified in using the phrase — given their HSPA+ network matched and in some cases far exceeded (particularly upstream) the speed provided by Sprint/Clearwire Mobile WiMax. You can see the full testing data here, and they discuss what hardware they used in testing here. T-Mobile continues to insist that they hope to have their faster HSPA+ service live in over 100 major metro markets by the end of this year.

HTC HD2 T-Mobile vs. HTC EVO Sprint by ApacheZero

The two phones are almost the same, with the same screen and processor while the HD2 has a 5MP camera instead of the 8MP HD camera on the EVO. But the EVO has 512MB RAM and the HD2 has 576 MB of RAM while both phones have 1024MB ROM. The EVO comes with an 8GB card while the HD2 comes with a 16GB. The EVO also has a forward facing camera that the HD2 does not have as well as the HDMI out port. I wont mention Sprint’s 4G WiMax as I’ve already mentioned T-Mobile’s 3G HSPA+ is just as good and from what I’ve heard it will be available in most markets way before 4G gets there. And last but not least, the HD2 has no Kickstand which I think is a great feature of the EVO and hopefully I’ll be able to buy a case that has one for my HD2.

Also, the EVO is 2mm wider and thicker, though it is 1mm shorter than the HD2, and it is also 13 grams heavier than the HD2. Next on the list is the Qualcomm Snapdragon CPU, which is clocked at 1GHz on both handsets, but comes in a newer chip version on the EVO, namely the QSD8650, and not the older QSD8250 in the HD2.

Other differences in the connectivity are the data transfer rates they support. The EVO 4G is said to come with support for theoretical download speeds of 10Mbps, though the actual speeds might differ. As for HD2, it supports 56Mbps in theory, though only 10Mbps in practice, making it a little faster than the EVO.

Overall I think the EVO is a better phone but I did get mine a lot cheaper and as far as I’m concerned, Sprint is shiesty trying to charge you extra for things like mobile hot-spot. Plus the few little differences where the EVO is better dont really matter as much to me as the fact that it comes with Android and saves you the hassle of installing that. But that is part of the fun too. And I like the fact that the HD2 is thinner, has faster Internet (only in theory really though), more RAM and it was the bigger SD card that finally made me buy it. Especially since it is so much cheaper than comparable phones and it will replace my 16GB iPod Touch that I can now sell to recoup some cash. So all in all I’m really excited about this. I’m not 100% sold on it yet though and I do have a 30 day right of rescission so I can return it if I decide its too much hassle.

